February 2023: “Ilhan on the Hi-job”

Rep. Ilhan Omar
4 min readMar 1, 2023

Dear friend,

A few weeks ago, I visited the Dogwood Coffee Co. This was the first stop in my new ‘Ilhan on the Hi-job’ series, where I’ll be visiting small businesses in Minnesota’s 5th district to learn best ways to support them on the federal level.

You can watch my visit to Dogwood Coffee here.

I also have been hosting some constituent office hours at various coffee shops across the district, including Butter Café and Lutunji’s Palate Café. If you have any local businesses or coffee shops you’d like us to visit, please email our District Office with your suggestions at MN05.Info@mail.house.gov.

Visiting Art Shanty Projects

In Minnesota, the weather may be cold, but our hearts are warm. I loved visiting the iconic Art Shanties village event at Lake Harriet. The Art Shanties have been a Minnesota tradition since 2004. It’s an opportunity for artists to be creative and for our community to get outside and enjoy winter. I met with a few folks and talked about my work on indigenous rights and climate justice in Congress.

Celebrating Black Excellence

I hosted a get together with our Black elected officials and community leaders at North Loop Gallery to commemorate Black History Month. I’m grateful for their incredible leadership and dedication to our community. I provided an update on my work in Washington and how that impacts our local communities.

Meeting with Alzheimer’s Association of Minnesota

Too many families are impacted by Alzheimer’s disease and dementia. I met with the Alzheimer’s Association of Minnesota to discuss some upcoming legislation and hear stories from Cody Malik, whose mother has the disease and from Lauren Leckliter, who is a nurse who works with patients who have Alzheimer’s and dementia. I’m committed to doing all I can as your representative to raise awareness, support caregivers, and support efforts to find a cure.

Celebrating the Native American Community Clinic’s 20th Anniversary

The Native American Community Clinic has been pivotal in providing high-quality care for Minnesotans for the past 20 years. I had the privilege to award the clinic with a congressional record at a special celebration held at Owamni restaurant.

Becoming One of the First UNICEF ‘Child-Friendly Cities’ in the US

Alongside local leaders, I celebrated the City of Minneapolis being named one of the first Child Friendly Cities Initiative (CFCI) candidates in the United States. Representing a city that is receiving this candidacy is an honor, and I’m excited to work with city officials to create a better world for our youth. From building safer communities to supporting public education, I remain committed to the CFCI’s core values of centering the needs and voices of children in our city. I look forward to continuing to serve as an advocate for our children. You can read more here.

Reintroducing the Amir Locke End Deadly No-Knock Warrants Act

A few weeks ago, I had the honor of hosting Andre Locke Sr., the father of Amir Locke, as my guest to President Biden’s State of the Union Address. Earlier this month, marked one year since Amir Locke was shot and killed by Minneapolis Police Department officers while executing a no-knock warrant. I will keep demanding accountability and justice until we get meaningful reform. In the coming weeks, I plan to reintroduce my bill to end deadly no-knock warrants, named after Amir. You can read more here.

Guaranteeing Free Lunch and Breakfast to All Students

The Minnesota House passed a bill to guarantee free lunch and breakfast to all Minnesota students. Child nutrition remains one of my top priorities in Congress and I will keep pushing for universal school meals on the federal level. I will continue to fight to end childhood hunger and improve access to meals for the most vulnerable, including through my No Shame at School Act with Senator Tina Smith and Universal School Meals Program Act with Senator Bernie Sanders to ensure children have the nutrition they need to succeed.

In service,

Ilhan Omar

--

--

Rep. Ilhan Omar

Representing Minnesota’s 5th District in the People’s House.